none
Project 2013 Custom Number Field Roll Up but exclude all milestones RRS feed

• Question

• If this has been answered before, I apologize.  

I have a custom number field in Project 2013.  I need this field to roll up in the summary task but exclude any milestone fields (similar to % Complete).  This seems like a simple straight forward action.  However, I can't find a solution.  

So, if I have 4 sub tasks where the 4th task is the milestone, average the 3 other sub tasks.  

I'm new to custom  fields and would appreciate any help.

Thanks!

Monday, July 7, 2014 11:04 PM

All replies

• sdpierce,

Just for reference the % Complete field at summary level is not a roll up average.

In order to do what I think you want, it will take at least 3 custom number fields (e.g. Number1, Number2, Number3) with these formulas:

Number1=IIf([milestone],0,{whatever your custom number formula})

Number2=IIf([milestone],0,1)

Number3=[Number1]/[Number2]

For the Number1 and Number2 fields, roll up a sum value to the summary line. For the Number3 field, use the formula at summary level.

Not quite as easy as you had hoped I'm sure. However, this could be readily done with some VBA, as follows (assuming your custom field is the Number1 field and there is no rollup for task summary lines):

Sub AveWithoutMile()
    Dim t As Task
    Dim st As Task
    Dim SumVal As Single
    Dim Div As Integer
    For Each t In ActiveProject.Tasks
        If t.Summary Then
            For Each st In t.OutlineChildren
                If Not st.Milestone Then
                    SumVal = SumVal + st.Number1
                    Div = Div + 1
                End If
            Next st
            t.Number1 = SumVal / Div
            SumVal = 0: Div = 0
        End If
    Next t

End Sub

John

Monday, July 7, 2014 11:49 PM
  • Thanks for the quick response, John.  Would the VBA need to be "macro'd" or could it trigger by an event?  In other words, what causes the code to run?

Thanks