none
AirGuitar Kinect Project Guidance RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hi all,

I am a student planning on making an AirGuitar (or possibly AirDrum) modification/hack for the Kinect. This project is classified as a Personal Project, which is part of the MYP (IB) curriculum and is very important to me. I roughly have 3 to 4.5 months to finish the project. Right now I have many questions on the feasibility and the difficulty of the project. I have completed AP Computer Science A and know some knowledge about Java and a little about C, I think I am rather good with algorithms and not so good on the actual code logic.

Here are my questions:

1. Is the allotted time frame enough for me to finish the project, in other words do you think that you can finish it within 4 months? ( I have a minimum of an hour a day to work on this)

2. What operating system is the most suitable for this project? I have Macs with Bootcamp (Windows 7) installed on them.

3. What hardware/software will I need for this project? (Obviously I need a Kinect and the Kinect SDK)

4. How hard would this be? (What skills will I need, and if I need to study on some things)

I deeply appreciate the fact that you guys are giving up your precious time to help me with this project. Your help will not be unnoticed and is probably crucial to my success. Anybody who has helped in anyway will without a doubt be credited and thanked.

Thanks in advance,

Harry
    Wednesday, October 19, 2011 1:34 PM

All replies

• Harry, I'll try to answer your questions the best I can, but some will require additional clarification.