Why do I need to provide credit card information as a student? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm a student and would like to publish my Windows 8 apps. I got a token via Dreamspark AND I got a token by passing an Apps Excellence Lab. Everything is set. My app is ready, I have the tokens, ... ...but I don't have a credit card.

Why do I need to provide credit card details when I don't have to pay for the account and want to provide my app for free in the store?

Well you could tell me now that the Windows 8 dev tool won't charge me. But what about the Windows 8 Music store, Video store, Windows Azure, ... Any wrong click and I'm doomed once I submitted a credit card information.. :-/

Is there any way to get around this credit card form?

Andreas 

Tuesday, September 11, 2012 10:23 PM

Answers

• Hi Andreasbalzer,

The following link is a good post for information on Dreamspark and Windows Store Developer.  In order to register on the Windows Store you need to be 18 years of age or the age of majority in your location and have a Microsoft Account and have a credit card account.

Having a credit card account is required to prove identification and also that you meet the age requirements. There is no way round this, as this is one of the requirement for access to the Windows Store.

Thanks

• Proposed as answer by kongwenbin Wednesday, September 12, 2012 6:39 PM
    • Marked as answer by mark_1h Tuesday, September 18, 2012 5:18 PM
    Wednesday, September 12, 2012 4:06 PM

All replies

• I have the same question,  is it to receive money or to make a payment?
    Tuesday, September 11, 2012 11:58 PM
  • @andrewscott48210: This is my personal opinion: Considering the dev account: For you to recieve payments. For all other Microsoft services: You can figure it out when being charged. ;-) I don't care for what they want to use that data. I don't have a credit card, I cannot provide it.
    Wednesday, September 12, 2012 12:35 AM