Sharepoint custom workflow assign a task to a group programatically RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to WF. I have not got a clue!!!..How can I do it please?
    rsoares
    Monday, May 11, 2009 6:25 PM

Answers

• Drag the Create Task Activity on to your Workflow design.

Bind the required parameters like Corelation token, taskproperties..

Right click on the activity and select "Generate Handlers", which takes you to the code view,,

Use this code below under thr respective task method handler generated

// Create unique Task Id.
        taskId = Guid.NewGuid();

// Set task properties.
        taskProperties.TaskType = 1;   
        taskProperties.Title = "Approval";
        taskProperties.StartDate = DateTime.Today;
        taskProperties.PercentComplete = 0.0f;
        taskProperties.AssignedTo = Domain + "\\" + SecurityGroupName;

Follow this link for better understanding on how to design n code workflows in sharepoint - http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc627283.aspx Also use the examples in the sharepoint SDK

Wednesday, May 13, 2009 12:37 PM
  • Hi,
    If you are using Visual Studio to developing workflow, just need to set the AssignedTo property of SPWorkflowTaskProperties to the group login name.
    My blog: http://xiaoshatian.cnblogs.com
    Tuesday, May 12, 2009 1:06 AM
  • Cautionary, If your task list you have associated the workflow to is using the base column "Assigned to" with an Allow multiple selections: setting of YES.
    Then workflows (Sharepoint Designer or Visual Studio) will Error (specifically on an end task activity).
    Wednesday, May 13, 2009 4:55 PM
  • Hi,

Instead of restarting the workflow, you can just use a state machine workflow and go to the begining state or any other state you want to go to when a rejection is made.

To get some code samples, just have a look at the SDK. There are good samples on workflows, state machines & sequential.

Best Regards
    Wednesday, May 13, 2009 7:24 PM