none
How to use DrawTextEx (really, how to mix managed and unmanaged code) RRS feed

• Question

• Sorry if this question is too basic. I'm new to mixing managed and unmanaged code and the documentation is making my head spin.  Basically I need to call DrawTextEx from a Windows Forms application (using visual c++).  The TextRenderer class was working just great until I tried adjusting the tab stops, which it doesn't do.  Apparently I need to hit the Windows API directly.

After a crash course in marshaling and P/Invoke, I managed to cobble together the following:

[StructLayout(LayoutKind::Sequential)]
    value class RECT
    {
    public: int left;
    	  int top;
    	  int right;
    	  int bottom;
    };

[StructLayout(LayoutKind::Sequential)]
    value class DRAWTEXTPARAMS
    {
    public: unsigned int cbSize;
    		int iTabLength;
    		int iLeftMargin;
    		int iRightMargin;
    		unsigned int uiLengthDrawn;
    };

[DllImport("user32.dll")]
    extern int DrawTextEx(
    	IntPtr hDc, 
    	[In, Out, MarshalAs(UnmanagedType::LPTStr)]
    	String^ string, 
    	int stringLength, 
    	[In, Out, MarshalAs(UnmanagedType::Struct)]
    	RECT rect, 
    	unsigned int dwDTFormat, 
    	[In, MarshalAs(UnmanagedType::Struct)]
    	DRAWTEXTPARAMS params);

And my actual call looks like this (though I don't think the problem is with the call):

DrawTextEx(e->Graphics->GetHdc(), se->text, se->text->Length, MyRect, DT_EXPANDTABS | DT_TABSTOP, dtParams);

se->text is a String, MyRect is a RECT as defined above, and dtParams is a DRAWTEXTPARAMS as defined above.  The two constants in there are defined as unsigned ints, 64 and 128 respectively, according to some reference I found somewhere.

The code does compile, but when I run the application, as soon as it hits the DrawTextEx call it throws an exception: