none
How to use Streamwriter to create a new file if same file name exist? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all, I started to use Visual Studio recently. Currently I'm doing a project to record data then the system will create a text file contains all the recorded data. Before the data recording started, we have to input a name inside. So the problem I faced here is I tried changing the codes few times, the file keep overwrite if the same name is used. I want to separate it into different files, for example "username"(1).txt, "username"(2).txt. Can anyone teach me please? I'm new to C# also.

Thanks in advance!

Tuesday, April 9, 2019 9:48 AM

Answers

• I would create a simple helper method

using System.IO;

namespace Utilities
    {
        class FileSystem
        {
            public static string GetNextFilePath(string directory, string filename, string extension)
            {
                string newPath = Path.Combine(directory, filename + extension);

int i = 1;
                while(File.Exists(newPath))
                {
                    string uniqueId = string.Format("({0})", i);
                    newPath = Path.Combine(directory, filename + uniqueId + extension);
                    i++;
                }

return newPath;
            }
        }
    }

Then in your application, you would use it like this
    string myPath =    Utilities.FileSystem.GetNextFilePath(@"C:\Temp", "username", ".txt");
    System.IO.File.WriteAllText(myPath, "test 1");
    myPath = Utilities.FileSystem.GetNextFilePath(@"C:\Temp", "username", ".txt");
    System.IO.File.WriteAllText(myPath, "test 2");

Tuesday, April 9, 2019 4:48 PM

All replies

• I would create a simple helper method

using System.IO;

namespace Utilities
    {
        class FileSystem
        {
            public static string GetNextFilePath(string directory, string filename, string extension)
            {
                string newPath = Path.Combine(directory, filename + extension);

int i = 1;