SQL Compact in Windows Azure? RRS feed

• Question

• User736351421 posted

I use WebMatrix 3. I've got an ASP.NET Web Pages site that draws fractals, it uses a SQL Compact database and works fine locally.  

But after I published it to the Azure Cloud and tried it, I get an error in the Database.cshtml that it doesn't work.  Error: Failed to find or load the registered .Net Framework Data Provider.  

The URL is: http://aljo-fractals.azurewebsites.net  Click on the option Database and you'll get to see the error.    

I guess I need to add a framework to use the database, where do I get that?    This must be easy to fix, but how...

Monday, May 13, 2013 11:54 AM

All replies

• User379720387 posted

No.

I have been publishing to Azure from WebMatrix 2 for several months, no problems.

What is the error?

Monday, May 13, 2013 1:27 PM
  • User736351421 posted

Failed to find or load the registered .Net Framework Data Provider.

I use WebMatrix 3

I guess I need to add the framework to use the database, where do I get that?

Monday, May 13, 2013 2:26 PM
  • User736351421 posted

SQL Compact cannot be used in Windows Azure, you need a Windows Azure SQL Database for this.

Tuesday, May 14, 2013 2:09 PM
  • User379720387 posted

I am using Webmatrix 2 with SQL CE and publish to Azure. This has worked fine for several months.

I must admit however that once I added Entity Framework the whole scheme collapsed and I can no longer publish to Azure.

Microsoft is working on this and I hope to hear from them soon.

Tuesday, May 14, 2013 2:27 PM
  • User-821857111 posted

SQL Compact cannot be used in Windows Azure, you need a Windows Azure SQL Database for this.

That is not correct. There are a number of examples of people using SQL CE in Azure successfully.

Tuesday, May 14, 2013 3:52 PM
  • User736351421 posted

That is not correct. There are a number of examples of people using SQL CE in Azure successfully.