IVsBuildPropertyStorage vs MSBuild API RRS feed

• Question

• I have an MPF-based project system and have used both IVsBuildPropertyStorage and the MSBuild property API to access project properties on other projects within my solution.  I'm looking for thoughts on when you should prefer one over the other.

Thanks in advance.

Kirk Fertitta

Tuesday, September 16, 2014 2:18 PM

Answers

• If I'm a package developer, and I develop a new project type, it's only *recommended* for me to implement a build system that's integrated with the VS environment. Of course, it's better, but you can't presume anything.

MsBuild being somewhat more recent (and external) than the pure VS interfaces, it would be my second choice. But at the same time, it can also be much easier to implement. So I would first try to query for integrated VS interfaces first, and try MsBuild after that if interfaces are not available.

For your information, my company does write a specific project type package, and we support none of these systems, althought we do support IVsProjectCfg2 and IVsBuildableProjectCfg to integrate with the VS build menus.

Simon Mourier

Tuesday, September 16, 2014 8:50 PM

All replies

• If I'm a package developer, and I develop a new project type, it's only *recommended* for me to implement a build system that's integrated with the VS environment. Of course, it's better, but you can't presume anything.

MsBuild being somewhat more recent (and external) than the pure VS interfaces, it would be my second choice. But at the same time, it can also be much easier to implement. So I would first try to query for integrated VS interfaces first, and try MsBuild after that if interfaces are not available.

For your information, my company does write a specific project type package, and we support none of these systems, althought we do support IVsProjectCfg2 and IVsBuildableProjectCfg to integrate with the VS build menus.

Simon Mourier

Tuesday, September 16, 2014 8:50 PM