Mapping fields in a Foreach activity RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I am new to Azure Data Factory and I did a search beforehand to see if anyone else have experiened my problem.

I am loading in 3 files from blob storage into tables in SQL DW

One of the files contain two dates and I want to be able to map those dates to YYYYMMDD but I'm not sure how I can do it.

I've done it when importing just one file by using a Data Flow and using Derived column.

It's almost like I need to be able to change the mapping depending on which file I am reading at the time.

Any help will be appreciated

Sandra
    Thursday, May 7, 2020 2:57 PM

Answers

• Thank you for the clarification.

There is a way to specify the date formats in the Mapping section of the Copy activity.

When the source data type is DateTime or DateTimeOffset, there is a double chevron you can click to input a format.

SQL already has a predefined DateTime format, so there is no need to specify a format to write it.  There is only a a need to specify how to read the format from the source.

Wednesday, May 13, 2020 8:41 PM
  • Hi Martin
    Apologies for not getting back
    I have solved this problem
    I am using a Get Metadata still to retrieve several files in the blob directory
    Within the ForEach activity I'm using a  Switch Activity with a case for each file
    Each Case has a CopyData where I am using the mapping to map each file content accordingly
    I am using your suggestion above with the double chevron setting my dates to en-GB.

Thanks you 
    Friday, May 29, 2020 7:24 AM

All replies

• Hello Sandra and thank you for your question.

I think you hit the nail on the head.

It's almost like I need to be able to change the mapping depending on which file I am reading at the time.

There are multiple ways to approach the issue.  I can't say which is appropriate for you without knowing more about your requirements.