none
Rudimentary C++ Kinect Console App RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

While I do like many features of C# with WPL and plan to learn more, I am for the time being more comfortable working in C++. I'm not a software engineer but the nature of my job requires me to be a "jack of all trades". Unfortunately, the only C++ Kinect skeletal tracking examples I have been able to find include a substantial amount of additional code related to managing the window system which I find confusing.

I'm hoping someone will be kind enough to provide a very basic (bare bones -- pun intended, ooops -- sorry) example of a C++ command line application capable of printing the XYZ coordinates of a skeletal joint to a command window.

Your help is greatly appreciated,

Bill

Wednesday, May 23, 2012 6:40 PM

Answers

• sorry i didnt mention scotts webcam filter link but as you know a directshow filter does not have a window when used. Link to scotts filter:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/kinectsdk/thread/4ee6e7ca-123d-4838-82b6-e5816bf6529c

Scroll down until you see his source for v1.

I would work on it some more but need to finish another kinect project for work.

Maybe with your c++ expertise you can figure out if hes handling data wrong or inefficently or something.

Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth. - "Sherlock holmes" "speak softly and carry a big stick" - theodore roosevelt. Fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate leads to suffering - Yoda. Blog - http://jefferycarlsonblog.blogspot.com/

Thursday, May 24, 2012 6:48 PM

All replies

• Your wish is granted. In the new Kinect Developer's Toolkit (included in our v1.5 release just this week), there's a whole series of new "basics" samples in C++ (as well as C# and VB), which have the sole purpose of demonstrating how to code to each part of the sensor in as few lines as possible. Have a look at each of these samples:

• ColorBasics-D2D