Infopath Filler Forms - confusion about SharePoint behavior RRS feed

• Question

• Thanks for looking at this.

I was helping a friend (my wife--does that make her a FWB?) with a question and was hoping someone could explain what I am missing as I am stuck. I'm relatively new to sharepoint/infopath and there is a bit of a learning curve:-)

What she would like to do is place a link (or button) on a user landing page allowing the user to create a new copy of Form X (and submit through a button on the Form). Form X is an Infopath Filler Form.

The form's functionality works fine from the Add Document link in the SharePoint Form X library. 

We created a web parts page as the basis for the landing page and looked for a web part to do this.  Apparently, nothing oob.  So then we tried adding the webpart generated for the Form X library with the idea of modifying its view/appearance.

However, the "add new item" for the webpart gives an upload control rather than opening the new form in  infopath --- as is the behavior from inside the library.  BTW, clicking existing documents gives the expected behavior -- opening them in infopath.

1) is this the correct behavior for the library webpart?  Or are we simple missing a setting?

2) Is there a simple way to add a button/link to make it simple for a user to create a new form without being inside the library?

BTW -- I am set up with Infopath 2010/SharePoint 2010 but her production environment is InfoPath 2007/SharePoint 2010, if it makes a difference.

Thanks to all again

-glenn

Tuesday, February 21, 2012 3:41 PM

Answers

• Hi ,

When add a document on the All Items page of the form library ,the link points to the add new item page. But when you add the form library in a data view web part ,the Add Document link points to the Upload page .You can get the href for the links using the F12 development Tool in IE .