none
Need to modify my Word Template but its already been published RRS feed

• Question

• I am just starting to use VS 2012, but I have been developing Office solutions for 10+ years now. I feel like an infant having to learn to crawl all over again.

With much reading and research, I was able to modify an existing Word 2010 template by adding an Action Pane, and even wiring a bunch of controls on the pane to interact with the content controls and bookmarks in the Word document. THen I figured out how to 'Publish' the solution and install it on my local machine. And it works! Woo Hoo!

However, I need to add about 50 CustomDocumentProperties into the template. I really didn't want to type them by hand; I have them in another Word file. So I wrote a little code to copy them from one document to the other. It works swell.

I also want to modify some features on the Action Pane.

I can open the solution in VS and modify the Action Pane. But I can't run any VB from within VS.

So if I want to edit the Word Template file (to add the custom doc properties), and then put it back into the Solution, how can I do this? I seem to be getting all kinds of exceptions. And I can see that there are a number of copies of the Word template in the Project folder for this solution.

Anyone know how to direct me?

Thanks,

Rich P

Tuesday, October 15, 2013 4:23 AM

Answers

• Hi Rich

Those three custom document properties need to be in a VSTO solution - they're what link the document to the DLL containing the code.

What surprises me, however, is that the technology would remove other Custom Document Properties.

When you opened and processed the template, did it contain those Custom Document Properties? If not, perhaps you didn't get hold of the right one...?