Adding Today Date using Designer RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I have been at this for weeks and have still not found any answers. I am trying to add a date to a holding column in sharepoint and I want that date to be always the current date. I see it is quite a difficult thing to figure out and I have also been trying to learn SP designer as well. Our list is a default datasheet view and I want to keep it like that.

Is it possible to go into insert > asp.net controls and add a text box with the current date using some sort odf code or whatever? I am totally new to this and am walking through a thick forest with no compass and it is getting dark so if anyone has any knowledge about how to add this column with current date please can you share this?

The problem is I cannot seem to add a text box or column to the datasheet list it is just adding it to the main page. When I went to insert > sharepoint controls it changed the datasheet view to like a new item form and I had to delete and recreate the view/list as I could not revert it. This is not what I want, how can I manipulate individual columns but keep the datasheet view?

Thanks

V

Andrew (MCDST)

• Edited by VBDevNewbie Thursday, January 5, 2012 11:47 AM
    • Edited by Mike Walsh FIN Thursday, January 5, 2012 11:56 AM The word "urgently" has no place in forum posts. If you are in a hurry pay for support by ringing MS customer support services
    • Moved by Mike Walsh FIN Thursday, January 5, 2012 11:56 AM "using designer" (From:SharePoint - Development and Programming (pre-SharePoint 2010))
    Thursday, January 5, 2012 11:44 AM

Answers

• Hi Andrew,

You can achieve this with calculated field.

By default, we cannot use “Today” in calculated column’s formula. But here is a workaround to use “Today” function.

1.         First, create a new column in your list with the Column Name of "Today".  Click "OK".  (It doesn't matter what type of column or data it is, this is just a place holder).