none
Using a constant and a variable in a Docmd.TransferSpreadsheet acImport statement RRS feed

• Question

• I am a self-taught newbie to VBA and am not sure whether I am going about what I want to accomplish in the right manner.  I have a procedure within my database that needs to import several excel spreadsheets into several tables. These spreadsheets will all have the same path, but different file names. I am wondering if, instead of writing x amount of docmd.transferspreadsheet statements for each source file and destination table, I could declare a constant for the path and use a variable for the source files and destination tables.  The code below is creating a Error code 3011:

Public Const MYPATH = "c:\Users\user\Documents\"

Dim source As Variant

source = InputBox("Please provide name of source file.", "Source File")

DoCmd.TransferSpreadsheet acImport, acSpreadsheetTypeExcel12Xml, "Broker_Data", MYPATH & "'" & source & "'", True

here is the 3011 error:

The database engine could not find the object 'c:\Users\user\Documents\'Broker Data.xlsx".  Make sure that the object exists and that you spell its name and the path name correctly. 

I have confirmed that the object exists and that the path and object name are spelled correctly.  Can anyone help with this error or provide some feedback on a more efficient way to do this?

Thanks so much!!

Richard

Wednesday, May 10, 2017 11:51 PM

All replies

• Not spelled correctly.

The easiest way you can find out is by modifying your code slightly:

dim strFile as string
    strFile = MYPATH & "'" & source & "'"
    DoCmd.TransferSpreadsheet acImport, acSpreadsheetTypeExcel12Xml, "Broker_Data", strFile, True

This will fail the same way, but next you set a breakpoint on the last line and inspect strFile. In the Immediate window type:
    ?strFile
    c:\Users\user\Documents\'Broker Data.xlsx'

Maybe you see it now?