Dotnetnuke and asp.net RRS feed

• Question

• User2000779856 posted

Hi, 
    I am new to asp.net and have been only working for 6months. My question is, I have multiple websites. I want to integrate dotnetnuke with them so the about pages/home page/ contact us page can be done by dot net nuke.

So the users will be responsible for their own website.

1)I was wondering if its possible to do so? if yes an example would be awesome

2) if I can use one installation of dotnetnuke to manage all these websites?

Thanks

P.S. all these websites read from one database which is separate from the dotnetnukewebsite

Monday, January 31, 2011 10:20 AM

Answers

• User-1376692305 posted

Still I suggest you not to use the dotnet nuke!!! If you have developed your own controls then use it directly via master page concepts...

Because in DNN they have their own controls (very sophisticated )which are inherited via dll and its very diffficult toh customize them...For example in their regestration process they stored data in 8 differrent tables via many stored procedures so very difficult toh handle that in terms that you cannot make your controls interact with their database !!!Just to know how many sp's have called in registration you have to struggle profiler......

And if you want to use their skin file then just make your own ...themes like them!!!

Please mark as answer..if this helps you !!!

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Tuesday, February 1, 2011 1:42 PM
  • User-1549551917 posted

sounds good to me!

I'd still also check out Umbraco, because they definitely allow for having many web sites/apps under one umbrella and their documentation is less intense than DNN.

Good luck - I've only developed on CMS app so far, but haven't tackled anything too sophisticated yet

Tuesday, February 1, 2011 1:50 PM

All replies

• User-1549551917 posted

I'm sure it's possible, but I personally found DotNetNuke's documentation to be overwhelming.