EF: Where clause in where clause in Navigation property? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi I am fairly new to EF and I cannot seem to figure out how to return the data I want. I am just trying to get back all the users where their navigation entities UserRoles match a specific ID.

public IEnumerable<User> GetUsersForRole(Role role)
            {
                if (!RoleExists(role)) {
                    throw new ArgumentException(MissingRole);
                }

return dbContext.Users.Where(u => u.UserRoles.Where(ur => ur.RoleID == role.RoleID));
            }

I have also tried to user to use an Include but I can't figure out the rather cryptic messages I keep getting back (I am on pain med's at the moment so I am experiencing brain farts a plenty and the last thing I need right now are MS's "helpful" error messages).

Please can someone clarify how I am supposed to return what I need.

Thank you in advance!

Thanks, Cep

Wednesday, June 27, 2012 3:20 PM

Answers

• Hi Cepeleon;

The issue you are most likely having is that the first Where clause lambda expression is not being compared to anything and therefor is not returning a boolean which a Where clause requires . To correct the issue add a .Any() method as shown below and it should work.

return dbContext.Users.Where(u => u.UserRoles.Where(ur => ur.RoleID == role.RoleID).Any());

Fernando (MCSD)

If a post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on that post and "Mark as Helpful".

• Marked as answer by Cepeleon Thursday, June 28, 2012 8:01 AM
    Thursday, June 28, 2012 1:58 AM

All replies

• are you trying to join 2 tables?

can you write a select statement to understand what you are trying to do

KiranMP

Wednesday, June 27, 2012 3:37 PM
  • I am trying to return all "User" entities where their Navigation Property entities within "UserRoles" match the RoleID property passed into the method. I am not joining tables I am using the Entity Framework.

Thanks, Cep