Teaching SB RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I'm a teacher working as a home tutor mainly for maths. In the UK there seems to be absolutely no provision for teaching computer programming to children, and ICT classes consist mainly of how to use Office.

I think MSSB is a wonderful tool for introducing kids to programming, and I'm wondering if there is any support available for promoting it as an educational tool within schools? Is there a budget available for this? I know there are some excellent resources (Teaching Kids to Program website for example), but I'm thinking more like what I used to do occasionally for TI with their graphics calculators - I'd train teachers to use the technology to support their teaching. Of course, TI had a product to sell....

Any thoughts?

Thursday, October 18, 2012 9:12 AM

Answers

• Sorry, there is no budget for this kind of stuff. If you have any specific questions or problems, you can ask them here or email me at gungan37 at gmail com. I am a student who started out with MSSB and it has helped me a lot! I spent about a year and a half on SB, then learned C#, C / C++, VB, J#, Java, and assembly language (and TI-Basic if that counts =) ). Believe me, SB is one of the best ways to introduce students to programming.

The PDF that comes with the SB install is what I used to learn. It is not exaclty ideal for teaching a class though. Maybe once you get them to get their basics down, that could take a stab at some of the "challenge of the month" problems. They come in a series of difficulty levels and are a good means of getting people thinking programmatically.

Please mark any answers and "vote as helpful" any posts that help you!

Thursday, October 18, 2012 10:34 PM
    Answerer
  • Philip, who runs Computer Science for Kids, has created the materials for this scenario (to help train teachers and give them a curriculum to teach children). Here is what Phil says...

=========