WM_PAINT & Update Flicker RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

Does anyone have ideas on how to eliminate flicker in update region defined in call to WM_PAINT?  Calling the WM_PAINT case on 50 ms interrupt right now.  I would find it hard to believe the routine has any difficulty whatsoever completing in this interval.  One of the suggestions I saw from another thread was to force the update region not to erase so I added the RDW_NOERASE qualifier in the call to redraw window.  Little to no difference.  I have no background understanding of how this actually renders.  I.e. does the entire update region get buffered during code and calculations and effectively replace existing image once that is complete or is this more of a real time redraw where the update region is wiped and each of these elements is drawn individually sequentially until complete?

//interrupt trigger at 50 ms
    case WM_TIMER:

if (wParam == SCREEN_REFRESH_TIMER) {
    			RedrawWindow(hWnd, &updateRegion, NULL, RDW_INVALIDATE | RDW_UPDATENOW | RDW_NOERASE);
    		}

//jumping forward to paint case

case WM_PAINT:  
    		{
    			RECT parentWindowSize;
    			RECT TextWindow;
    			BOOL fixedGraphScale = TRUE;
    			HBRUSH hbr;										//brush for shading scope window
    			WCHAR xMinBuffer[10];
    			WCHAR xMaxBuffer[10];
    			float graphMax = returnMaxAmplitude();			//check max and min from retrieved array for dynamic scaling
    			float graphMin = returnMinAmplitude();
    			if (fixedGraphScale == TRUE) {					//otherwise use constant values
    				graphMax = 84;
    				graphMin = 71;
    			}
    			int GraphXLeft = 20;							//set default graph frame @ 600x400
    			int GraphXRight = 620;
    			int GraphYTop = 50;
    			int GraphYBottom = 450;
    			RECT scopeWindow;
    			scopeWindow.left = 20;
    			scopeWindow.right = 620;
    			scopeWindow.top = 50;
    			scopeWindow.bottom = 450;

float nextX, nextY;
    			float span = graphMax - graphMin + 2;