Problem using "MessageContractAttribute" - parameters of different types RRS feed

• Question

• I've graduated from sending Int32s and Strings to my own type.  Well, I've tried but it's not working.  I've created a DataContract class at the receive side (a Declarative Sequential Service Library) and a matching MessageContract (with IsWrapped = false) on the send side according to a blog post I found.  I'm new to WCF and WF and struggling with the error I'm getting:

"The operation 'GetData' could not be loaded because it has a parameter or return type of type System.ServiceModel.Channels.Message or a type that has MessageContractAttribute and other parameters of different types. When using System.ServiceModel.Channels.Message or types with MessageContractAttribute, the method must not use any other types of parameters."

Any idea which part of it is relevant and why?
    Friday, October 2, 2009 9:02 AM

Answers

• Never mind.  I'm not sure what I was doing wrong as I went through many steps before finally resolving this.  I think one key issue was the lack of Namespace = parameter on the DataContract attribute and WrapperNamespace = parameter on the MessageContract attribute.
    • Marked as answer by SSG31415926 Tuesday, October 6, 2009 2:39 PM
    Tuesday, October 6, 2009 2:39 PM

All replies

• Try using IsWrapped=true
    Friday, October 2, 2009 1:07 PM
  • I got the same result.  I'm going to start from scratch with a known-working service that sends a string and then change the parameter to a custom type.  I'll let you know how I get on.
    Friday, October 2, 2009 5:24 PM