Object Model - Exercise RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I am new to Sharepoint and solving an exercise http://img251.imageshack.us/i/image005fw.jpg/

I know I have to use Sharepoint object model to solve this but I am confused when I open VS 2010 in selecting templates. I would like to deploy it as a webpart.

Please guide me.

Thanks.

Saturday, April 23, 2011 1:36 PM

Answers

• create a new visual web part, drag a button onto the design surface, double click the button, and add this code to the code behind. This will render text inside your web part. No other windows should pop up or anything like that. I don't know what i was looking at with your screenshot - why was there a big "stop editing" button at the center of the page? Was this web part placed on a normal web part page like home.aspx? anyway...

protected void Button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                 int i = 0;
                 var label = new Label();
                 Controls.Add(label);
                 label.Text = " You are about to start the project...";
                 using (SPSite oSiteCollection = new SPSite("http://" + System.Environment.MachineName))
                 {
                     SPWebCollection collWebsites = oSiteCollection.AllWebs;
                     label = new Label();
                     label.Text = string.Format("Count: {0}",  collWebsites.Count);
                     Controls.Add(label);                
                     foreach (SPWeb oWebsite in collWebsites)
                     {
                         label = new Label();
                         label.Text = string.Format("Web site: {0}", oWebsite.Url);
                         Controls.Add(label);
                         label = new Label();
                         label.Text = string.Format("Iteration " + i);
                         Controls.Add(label);                    
                         i++;
                         oWebsite.Dispose();
                     }