How to calculate pivot-like subtotals using DAX RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am new to PowerPivot and think it is a very nice tool. Only the ability to avoind having to use VLOOKUPs by connecting different tables made installing the add-on really worth while.

I do however have one question about something that I am not able to figure out:

I have tree tables:

• mapping
    • employees
    • time written by employees

The 'mapping' table contains an indicator if a time code is "D" (direct) or "I" (indirect), the 'employees' table contains personnel numbers and the 'time' table contains multiple records per personnel number with different time codes and number of hours written to the specific code.

What I would like to do is create a calculated column with the total number of direct hours per person. I can easily do that by using Excel to create a pivot table with the sum of hours per personell number filtered by "D", but I do not know how to get that data back into my PowerPivot table. I need the number of total direct hours for further calculations, which is the reason I would like to have it in my table.

My question is:

Is it possible to create a DAX function to calculate the total direct hours per employee, using the data I described above?

Cheers,

Kirvis

Monday, March 5, 2012 9:21 AM

Answers

• Ah. got it.

That is pretty easy to do. In addition to the calculation already mentioned on my last post, add this new one on the 'personnel' table as a calculated column:

=CALCULATE( SUM( time[Direct Hours] ) )

The result is the one shown below.  It takes the [direct hours] on the time table and aggregates them to the proper personnel ID based on the current filter context.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Javier Guillen
    http://javierguillen.wordpress.com/

• Marked as answer by Challen Fu Wednesday, March 14, 2012 9:31 AM
    Tuesday, March 6, 2012 6:47 PM
    Answerer

All replies

• Hi Kirvis,