none
LINQ to SQL: best practices when having numerous(150-200) tables RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am relatively new to the LINQ to SQL. The problem I am facing is how to take advantage of LINQ, its database Designer, automatic code generation and very convenient cross-objects referencing(accessing data of the referenced tables as data members of an initialized LINQ-mapped object) when having around 150-200 distinct tables. Typical solution would be to split the tables among several databases / schemas.But cross-database references(FKs, joins) are impossible, AFAIU.

Is there any way to get more clarity in the DBML diagram that combines 150-200 tables - by implementing some sort of separation / "grouping" conceptually similar tables?

Thank you!
    Tuesday, October 21, 2008 10:50 AM

Answers

• In theory, you could use two digrams, and address the cross-diagram joins as follows:

(a) temporarily make the joins in one of the diagrams (I.e. introduce a table from one of the diagrams into the other, so it makes the joins there)

(b) Find the generated code that implements the properties that reperesent the joins

(c) Copy that code into partial classes of your own (so it belongs to the same classes as what you copied it out of, but it is in "your" half of the partial class)

(d) remove your temporary addition to the diagram.

Now, you should have code that is functionally identical to putting it all one one diagram, but you have split it into two.

Three caveats:

(1) you'll need to be real careful about what happens in the generated constructors.  You'll need to find the stuff that is put there to do the relationships in question (the ones that will cross diagrams) and move it into the OnCreated() method in the partial class.