none
Visual Studio 2015 does not show Python Intellisense

Question

• Hi,

I'm new to visual studio and Python. I'm trying to enable intellisense but as you can see in the screenshot below, its not working. I have installed Visual studio 2015 express and then installed python tools from https://microsoft.github.io/PTVS/

I googled but could not find how to enable intellisense in VS for python.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Jag

Sunday, November 20, 2016 8:36 AM

All replies

• Hi Jag,

I think there is nothing wrong with Python in Intellisense, and intellisense feature in VS is enable by default. If you want to judge whether Intellisense for Python works or not, please refer to the following screenshot:

When I type inp words, the input method has been listed, please operate this step in your side, this step could help you judge whether Intellisense works in your side.

And I think, you have used a wrong syntax, I am not familiar with Python syntax, but in my side I get the following results.

If country is get from input method, I think you need invoke it directly, and if we define a string just like contryTest from above screenshot, you could call all string methods that listed by Intellisense.

Hope it helpful for you.

Sincerely,

Oscar

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 2:07 AM
  • Hi Oscar,

I'm following the Microsoft python training as in the link below.I do get the intelli list when i type input as shown below but not when i type upper() as shown in the training video below

Thinking if we need to define on the top to import any string function? I did try import string but that didnt help