How-To: AD auth on Linux w/ Apache/Nginx reverse proxy RRS feed

• Question

• User-648201923 posted

I've been trying to figure out if it's possible to use AD for auth in an app served from a linux host.

So far I've found these documents that might get me part way there.

Host ASP.NET Core on Linux

Securing Apache HTTPD with Microsoft Active Directory

nginx-ldap-auth

What I have in my lab setup is a ubuntu box running samba configured as an ADDC, and another which I want to host my app on that is a member of the domain.

I have my development machine a member of the domain as well, and I can log in to computers in the domain with the same account.

I'm not an expert in any of this stuff, I'm just learning, so please excuse me if I get terminology or concepts wrong.

Is there any middleware that would work with such a setup? Stuff to use in Starup.cs which would work with Apache/Nginx as a reverse proxy configured to auth with ldap?

Would it be possible to do single sign on with kerberos/ntlm somehow? I'd imagine that might have more to do with the browser/host though. I'd like to use the credentials from the computer running the web browser to authenticate into the web app without needing to enter a password. Idk if that's at all possible, but if it is, any direction I should look for how to set this up in an environment using both Windows and Linux hosts?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Edit:

I found this document Configure Windows Authentication in ASP.NET Core # Kestrel

But it says: "Credentials can be persisted across requests on a connection. Negotiate authentication must not be used with proxies unless the proxy maintains a 1:1 connection affinity (a persistent connection) with Kestrel."

Further it says: "Once the Linux or macOS machine is joined to the domain, additional steps are required to provide a keytab file with the SPNs"

This post FireFox, Windows Security and Kestrel on ASP.NET Core, seems to provide some more insight into this.