Automation error ListRows.Add RRS feed

• Question

• Firstly, I'm a self-taught developer and haven't been at this for very long so please bear this in mind and be patient with me!

I have a very simple (unfinished for now due to the problem) function for adding a row to the bottom of a ListObject and fill it with some data.

Public Function CreateNewRecord(ByRef lTbl as ListObject, asRec() as String) as Boolean

Dim lRow as ListRow
    Dim i as Integer

Set lRow = lTbl.ListRows.Add

For i = LBound(asRec) to UBound(asRec)
    lRow.Range(1, i + 2) = asRec(i)
    Next

CreateNewRecord = True
    End Function

I've tried calling the function from a user form and from code in the same module.

The first time I run this, I get:

Run-time error '-2147417848 (80010108)': Method 'Add' of object 'ListRows' failed.

Excel then crashes immediately, and restarts itself, recovering the file as it was last saved.

I've modified the code to add a column before adding a row as a test of the methodology and it works perfectly. However, as soon as I try to add a row, I get the error.

Can anyone help me please?

• Edited by Clive St Helmet Wednesday, April 15, 2015 4:35 PM More information
    Wednesday, April 15, 2015 4:33 PM

Answers

• Thanks for the help.

I've created a new workbook, inserted the code provided and had no problems whatsoever. I went back to my workbook, tried a different table and again couldn't replicate the issue. I then went back to the original table and tried inserting a row and it crashed Excel once again. So I'm blaming the table (and possibly the worksheet it is on). I've deleted both, created a new worksheet and a new table with a different name and have not had the same problem.

I'm still not certain what happened but I can only assume that the listobject in question had become corrupted somehow.

Thanks for the help!

**EDIT**