Rewrite engine in VB.NET RRS feed

• Question

• User2047813244 posted
    Hello all. I am new to C#, but have been coding in VB.NET and regular C for a few years. Anyway, I'm trying to write an URL rewriter in VB.NET, so I decided to use 15seconds's www.15seconds.com/issue/030522.htm (15seconds' Rewrite.NET) project and convert it into VB.Net. That way I'd have a kickass URL rewriting project, and I will become more familiar with C#. Here is the code in C#: using System; namespace Rewrite.NET { public class Rewrite : System.Web.IHttpModule { /// <summary> /// Init is required from the IHttpModule interface /// </summary> /// <param name="Appl"></param> public void Init(System.Web.HttpApplication Appl) { //make sure to wire up to BeginRequest Appl.BeginRequest+=new System.EventHandler(Rewrite_BeginRequest); } /// <summary> /// Dispose is required from the IHttpModule interface /// </summary> public void Dispose() { //make sure you clean up after yourself } /// <summary> /// To handle the starting of the incoming request /// </summary> /// <param name="sender"></param> /// <param name="args"></param> public void Rewrite_BeginRequest(object sender, System.EventArgs args) { //process rules here //cast the sender to a HttpApplication object System.Web.HttpApplication Appl=(System.Web.HttpApplication)sender; //load up the rules engine RulesEngine.Engine e = new RulesEngine.Engine(Appl); string r = e.Execute(); //only redirect if we have too if(r!="" && r.ToLower()!=RulesEngine.Engine.Getpath(Appl).ToLower()) SendToNewUrl(r, Appl); } public void SendToNewUrl(string url, System.Web.HttpApplication Appl) { Appl.Context.RewritePath(url); } } } Here is the VB code: Imports System Namespace Rewrite.NET Public Class Rewrite Inherits System.Web.IHttpModule Public Sub Init(ByVal Appl As System.Web.HttpApplication) Appl.BeginRequest += New System.EventHandler(Rewrite_BeginRequest) End Sub End Class End Namespace Now I think the colon in the class declaration means inheritace, howe