none
BusTransBusAddrToVirtual: Confusing description of AddressSpace RRS feed

• Question

• Hello together,

I'm new to Windows CE driver development, so currently I spend time reading tutorials/howtos and the function description of various commonly used functions at MSDN. However, I don't understand the description of the AddressSpace-parameter of the function BusTransBusAddrToVirtual. I refer to this site: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee485427.aspx

There it says:

"AddressSpace [in, out] Flag to indicate whether what this function maps to is in I/O space or memory space. On input, this is an initialized variable. On output, this is the flag. AddressSpace 0x0 indicates memory and AddressSpace 0x1 indicates I/O space."

Now what does "On input, this is an initialized variable." mean? Initialized to what? I would be glad if someone could explain this to me in more detail, please.

Thanks in advance, Wolfgang Wallner

Edit: Sorry for the strange formatting at the beginning, somehow the post does not get displayed the way I typed it, I have to manually add tags in the post.

Tuesday, July 20, 2010 8:25 AM

All replies

• "AddressSpace [in, out] Flag to indicate whether what this function maps to is in I/O space or memory space. On input, this is an initialized variable. On output, this is the flag. AddressSpace 0x0 indicates memory and AddressSpace 0x1 indicates I/O space."

Now what does "On input, this is an initialized variable." mean? Initialized to what? I would be glad if someone could explain this to me in more detail, please.

I use the function like this in my XXX_Init method:

DWORD inIoSpace = 0;<br/>
    <br/>
    bRetVal = BusTransBusAddrToVirtual(hBusAccess,
     				  (INTERFACE_TYPE) wi.dwInterfaceType,
    				  wi.dwBusNumber,
    				  PortAddress,
    				  (wi.memWindows[dwMemIndex]).dwLen,
    				  &inIoSpace,<br/>
              &pvRegisters);