none
Writing depth data to text files RRS feed

• Question

• Hi 

I am new to programming and Kinect. I need help on storing depth data to a text file at the fastest possible rate. 

I have done multiple object serialisation to a text file. However, it takes ages to deserialise the data. 

Please advice.

Thanks.

Sunday, July 17, 2011 8:31 AM

Answers

• This is what I use, I have not benchmarked the framerate, but it seems to work okay.

TextWriter tw = new StreamWriter("Depthframe" + (totalFrames) + ".txt");
            for (int i = 0; i < depth.Length; i++)
            {
              tw.WriteLine(depth[i]+" ");
            }
            tw.Close();

It just creates a really long bit array. 

(Streamwriter is from the class System.IO.TextWriter you would have to add "using System.IO;")

hope I have helped. 

Monday, July 18, 2011 3:15 AM

All replies

• This is what I use, I have not benchmarked the framerate, but it seems to work okay.

{
            }
            tw.Close();

It just creates a really long bit array. 

(Streamwriter is from the class System.IO.TextWriter you would have to add "using System.IO;")

hope I have helped. 

Monday, July 18, 2011 3:15 AM
  • Thanks a lot for such a detailed reply. Actually now my boss wants to do it without using deserialisation and it is actually faster than it were using serialisation.

But thanks anyways!

Anu Aggarwal
    Monday, July 18, 2011 2:42 PM
  • Anu,

So, are you still asking for support regarding the new way you need to do things, or is your issue resolved already?

Eddy

I'm here to help
    Monday, July 18, 2011 9:31 PM
  • Thanks, Eddy.

It is resolved. What I am doing is now writing each image's data to a separate file and that does not take too long.

However, I have another question - could you please advice a little on where to search for documentation regarding polling?

Thanks in advance

Anu Aggarwal
    Tuesday, July 19, 2011 5:06 AM
  • Anu,