none
Create a WCF using existing code and replacing COM+ RRS feed

• Question

• So I've been asked to learn how to build services.  I've done some sample WCF Services and am starting to understand it a bit more but still feel a little lost.  I have to take a process that currently gets kicked off using COM+ (which I have no experience in) in a .NET website and have it be kicked off using WCF instead.  

So the sub below is the report code that is already existing and basically does what is commented below:

Public Sub CreateReport(Byval parameterName as String) 

'Code here pulls data

'code here creates an Excel file

'code here sends an email to the user saying their file is ready for pick up

End Sub

Which I have now made into an interface and class like this:

Public Interface ICreateReportService
        <OperationContract()> _
        Sub CreateReport(ByVal parameter As String)
    End Interface

Public Class CreateReportService
        Implements ICreateReportService

Public Sub CreateReport(parameter as String) Implements ICreateReportService.CreateReport

'code to pull data
        'code to generate Excel file
        'Code to email user to say file is ready for pickup!

End Sub

End Class

For my service project I have this:

Imports System.ComponentModel
    Imports System.ServiceModel
    Imports System.ServiceProcess
    Imports System.Configuration
    Imports System.Configuration.Install
    Imports REPORTPROJECT
    Public Class Service1
        Public Class OurWindowsService
            Inherits ServiceBase

Public serviceHost As ServiceHost = Nothing

Public Sub New()
                ServiceName = "ReportService"
            End Sub
            Public Shared Sub Main()
                ServiceBase.Run(New OurWindowsService())
            End Sub
            Protected Overrides Sub OnStart(args() As String)
                If serviceHost IsNot Nothing Then
                    serviceHost.Close()
                End If