WPF Data Binding Validation Rules RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone,

I'm studying for Windows Application Development exam and there is one thing about data binding validation rules that's bugging me.

I have a class Testor with a property that always returns "abc".

public class Testor
    {    
        public Testor()
        {
        }
        public string Prop
        {
            get { return "abc"; }        
        }
    }

I add the namespace in XAML, and instantiate an object of Testor: 

<Window.Resources>
        <local:Testor x:Key="myTestor"></local:Testor>
    </Window.Resources>

Then I bind its property "Prop" to a Label control - which correctly displays "abc". 

<Label Margin="192,113,199,162">
        <Label.Content>
            <Binding Source="{StaticResource myTestor}" 
                     Path="Prop" 
                     NotifyOnValidationError="True">
                <Binding.ValidationRules>
                    <local:StringValidator/>  
                </Binding.ValidationRules>
             </Binding>
        </Label.Content>
    </Label>

What I would like is to have validation of the bound "Prop" property. So I derive a class from ValidationRule like this:

public class StringValidator : ValidationRule
        {
            public override ValidationResult Validate(object value, CultureInfo cultureInfo)
            {
                if (value.ToString() == "")
                    return new ValidationResult(false, "String cannot be empty");
                return new ValidationResult(true, null);
            }
        }

And then I add it to XAML under Binding.ValidationRules.

Why does Validate() method never run? I'm clearly missing something but I can't figure it out.

• Edited by boogienight Wednesday, January 16, 2013 7:43 PM
    Wednesday, January 16, 2013 7:42 PM

Answers