none
Document.Add not creating a Document Collection Index? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm new to Office 2010, and am testing an Excel app that does a Mail Merge after pulling data from a database.  It was written for Office 2003 and works fine, but I'm having an issue getting it to work in Excel 2010.  Specifically, this line:

With WordDoc.MailMerge

Generates a #91 runtime error: Object Variable not set

Breaking on With WordDoc.MailMerge shows that the WordApp.Documents object contains 0 items in the collection, so it appears that the problem is originating here:

Set WordDoc = WordApp.Documents.App(Path & FileName)

The variables for Path and FileName are global and contain a valid path when parsed, so that's not the issue.  I assume it's a syntax problem going from 2003 -> 2010 but I haven't been able to nail it down.  Relevant bits of code are below, if anyone can shed some light.

'Relevant bits of code

Public WordApp As Word.Application
    Public WordDoc As Word.Document

Set WordApp = New Word.Application
    WordApp.visible = False

With WordDoc.MailMerge
        .OpenDataSource Name:=FName, ConfirmConversions:=False, ReadOnly:=False, _
         LinkToSource:=True, Revert:=False,   
         Format:=wdOpenFormatAuto

With .DataSource
             .FirstRecord = wdDefaultFirstRecord
             .LastRecord = wdDefaultLastRecord
          End With
          .Execute Pause:=True
    End With

Wednesday, September 28, 2011 8:47 PM

Answers

• Hi Chris

Very odd, indeed. Just out of curiosity, if you set WordApp.Visible = True does that change the behavior?

"Traditionally", execution should wait, but they've started to make a number of things asynchronous in order to try to give the user the feeling Office apps are starting fast enough. If you could report bugs on Office on the Connect site I'd certainly recommend you do so in this case. But unfortunately, you can't...