10 golden rules of programming - a living discipline RRS feed

• General discussion

• To begin, I should talk a little bit about my background. Beginning current and  moving backwards in time, I currently work as a lead developer in a national conversion project for one of the largest banks on the globe whose name will remain confidential for obvious reasons. Prior to this, I was a senior software engineer for American Express in charge of a redesign for the largest rules process engine in the market as well as new ad-hoc development. Prior to that, I have worked for several government agencies as well as major utility companies, start up businesses, and have taken on uncountable freelance projects having miles of .net code.

Throughout this rollercoaster ride, I've held the titles of DBA, Project Manager, Software Engineer, Network Administrator, Technical Writer, and have trained a few development teams. This versatility has contributed immensely to my engineering background and allowed me to put together the following list: (in no particular order)

1.     Don't re-invent the wheel.

Too often, our better judgment and ethics play a major role in our job. Is there always a better way to do things? Most often, yes. Should we change it? Most often, no. In larger environments, there are many links to many resources that touch a poorly written piece of code. Without fully understanding the bigger picture, changing 1 variable could result in breaking the entire system. Equally, a stand-alone piece of code that is working in production, most of the time, should never be touched, unless, of course, it is producing undesired results or is performing poorly. Outside of that, let sleeping dogs lie. You'll be glad you did. One small piece of code can quickly turn into a full blown project before you know it. I suppose it's entirely at the mercy or your work load, but consider this before your ambitions take control.

2.     Keep things as simple as possible but not simpler.