none
Can't see my div box RRS feed

• Question

• Hey all,

I just started learning expression web and I am trying to insert <div> but I can not see the shaded box.  I also made sure view was set properly in the veiw - visual aid section.  Can some one help me out and let me know what im doing wrong.  Thanks

Jayson

Saturday, December 8, 2012 3:14 PM

All replies

• If "shaded box" refers to the <div> in design view, then it is not shaded until you select it.
    Try using Split View, and selecting the <div> in the code section.

Incidentally, to clearly see an empty <div> just inserted into Design view in an empty page with white background, I had to set
    View->Visual Aids->Show
    View->Visual Aids->Block Selection
    View->Visual Aids->Visible Borders
    View->Visual Aids->Empty Containers
    View->Visual Aids->Margins and Padding

I am not saying all of these are required - I set them in order shown until the <div> stood out.

Ron Symonds
    Microsoft MVP (Expression Web)

www.rxs-enterprises.org/fp
    Saturday, December 8, 2012 3:34 PM
  • I can't even select the Div was placed.  It's there cause I see it in the code but when I try to click on it nothing happens.  I'm really getting frustrated I don't know what im doing wrong.
    Saturday, December 8, 2012 3:39 PM
  • "but when I try to click on it nothing happens"

What do you expect to happen?  To highlight an HTML object (such as a <div> you have to select it.  This involves dragging the mouse between (and including) <div> and </div>, or use View->Quick Tag
    Selector, click inside the div and then click the <div> tag in the QTS bar.

Or, in the code, type something into the <div> and watch where it appears in Design View.

Ron Symonds
    Microsoft MVP (Expression Web)

www.rxs-enterprises.org/fp
    Saturday, December 8, 2012 3:58 PM
  • "when I try to click on it nothing happens"