none
Unable to change the Microsoft account associated with msdn subscription RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm trying to switch the Microsoft account associated with our MSDN subscription.  Using the option "Change Microsoft Account for this subscription" results in getting an error message on the third step.  Initially I contacted the subscription support email, they directed me towards the MS Account forms, and they directed me here... Hopefully I'm in the right place :-)

Here is a copy of my posting with all the details from the MS Accounts site (http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windowslive/forum/liveid-profile/unable-to-change-the-microsoft-account-associated/ad09bc51-601f-4cab-886e-ad96eced8a0c):

Summary:
    I have an existing MSDN subscription attached to a old Microsoft account using an @msn.com address.  I have created a new Microsoft account using an email address belonging to our organization.  When I attempt to change the Micrsoft account associated with the MSDN subscription from the old account to the new account it fails with an error message and a reference number.

Details:
    Logging into MSDN with the old Microsoft account (@msn.com), accessing account details, accessing subscription benefits all works as it always has.
    Logging into the newly created Microsoft account (@enterprise.com) works.
    Logging into MSDN with newly created Micrsoft account works an shows the following message as expected: "We can't find any MSDN Subscriptions that are linked to your current Microsoft Account. If you have your subscription details (Subscriber ID or Benefit Access Number, name, and email) then you can activate your account to start using your subscription benefits."
    To change the Microsoft account associated with a MSDN subscription:
    Under "My Account" there is the option to "Change Microsoft Account for this subscription" which starts a 3 step process:
    Step 1, "Choose a temporary passphrase" - works