How to call a SignalR Hub in a Web Api from a MVC Controller class? RRS feed

• Question

• User-2145124708 posted

I am completely new to SignalR. I have a ASP.Net net MVC web application (not .Net Core). But the business logic is written in a separate Web Api hosted in a different server. Now I want to call a SignalR Hub residing in above mentioned Web Api server from my client's Controller class. The reason why I am not directly calling WebApi server from javascript is I want to pass the currently logged UserID to the Hub too. So I believe it is more secure to get the current logged UserID from the Session variable I created in MVC controller class (at client's side). Could someone help me with the solution? It will be really helpful if you can show me the complete code. Because I am new to the SignalR thing. 

Sunday, April 12, 2020 7:50 PM

All replies

• User283571144 posted

Hi chamila91,

As far as I know,if you want to access the server hub in MVC controller, I suggest you could try to use signalr client library

Then you could use below codes to call the server hub method.

Server code for a method that has no return value

public class StockTickerHub : Hub
    {
        public void JoinGroup(string groupName)
        {
            Groups.Add(Context.ConnectionId, groupName); 
        }
    }

Client hub method:

using (var hubConnection = new HubConnection("http://www.contoso.com/")) 
    {
        IHubProxy stockTickerHubProxy = hubConnection.CreateHubProxy("StockTickerHub");
        stockTickerHubProxy.On<Stock>("UpdateStockPrice", stock => Console.WriteLine("Stock update for {0} new price {1}", stock.Symbol, stock.Price));
        await hubConnection.Start();
        stockTickerHubProxy.Invoke("JoinGroup", "SignalRChatRoom");
    }

Best Regards,

Brando

Monday, April 13, 2020 2:06 AM
  • User-2145124708 posted

Hi Brando. Thanks for the reply. Can you also tell me what are these names in your example code above? 

UpdateStockPrice
    SignalRChatRoom