A network related or instance specific error when I run VS2005 application RRS feed

• General discussion

• I am new to programming, I am a system and network engineer so not much understanding in coding. I have an application which has been created in VS2005 .net which has an sql database. The SQL server version is 2000 which is running on Windows 2003 serer. This application is running fine on existing Windows XP machines. But I have tried to installed on new Windows XP, 7 and 8 PC's but all the clients getting error "A network related or instance specific error.........error 40 could not open a connection to SQL server. I have tried to connect the sql server with an UDL file and I can connect successfully. Also installed VS2005 and able to connect the SQL server successfully but some reason the application cannot connect to the sql server. My exe.config connection string as follow (this connection string works fine with the exiting windows XP PC's).

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <configuration>
      <configSections>
      </configSections>
      <connectionStrings>
        <add name="xxx.MySettings.SQLConString" connectionString="server=10.0.0.23;database=XXX;Persist Security Info=True;User ID=sa;Password=password"
          providerName="System.Data.SqlClient" />
        <add name="xxx.MySettings.OLEConString" connectionString="Provider=SQLOLEDB;server=10.0.0.23;Persist Security Info=True;Password=password;User ID=sa;database=XXX"
          providerName="System.Data.OleDb" />
        <add name="xxx.MySettings.ConnectionString" connectionString="Provider=SQLNCLI.1;server=10.0.0.23;Persist Security Info=True;Password=password;User ID=sa;database=XXX"
          providerName="System.Data.OleDb" />
        <add name="xxx.MySettings.WGCConnectionString" connectionString="server=192.0.0.23;database=XXX;Persist Security Info=True;User ID=sa;Password=password"
          providerName="System.Data.SqlClient" />
      </connectionStrings>
      <appSettings>