none
Confusion with Target Designer configuration settings RRS feed

• Question

• I'm fairly new to Windows Embedded (using standard 2009) and have been tasked with creating an image for some legacy digital signage devices. All of my knowledge is coming from online resources and there are a few things that are a little unclear from what I've read. Was hoping to get some clarification from the community.

First off, I've gone through the following tutorial a few times (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb521546(v=winembedded.51).aspx). If I'm understanding this correctly, importing devices.pmq into component designer (step 2) is essentially the means of importing all of the possible settings associated with the target machine and in the configuration creation stage (step 3) we are picking and choosing what we want to carry into that new image. What I've yet to find is a detailed list of what is needed to get started and why. Step 3 in the previous link has a couple pieces to add, but why are each needed and is it possible that I might need different starting points than this tutorial? I also followed the following video (http://www.annabooks.com/Video_Basic_Build.html), very helpful btw!! Early in the tutorial there is a slide that states "every image has the following", computer component/HAL- target designer, shell, language, NT Loader, file system and format, logon components. I'm assuming that should read "ever image needs the following components added". Therefore, we need to add each of those pieces via target designer since they aren't carried over by default, right? That being said, how do we find/identify the HAL through the interface? Is that added by default?