none
Changing expression tree at run time RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm new to C# expressions trees. I've an expression tree being passed to a method as below: private void MyMethod(Expression<MyClass> exp, string param) I need to be able to tweak this exp and add a AND clause based on the param value at runtime. How do I achieve this please? Thanks.

sdfsdf

I'm new to C# expressions trees.

I've an expression tree being passed to a method as below:

private void MyMethod(Expression<MyClass> exp, string param)

I need to be able to tweak this exp and add a AND clause based on the param value at runtime. How do I achieve this please?

Thanks.

I'm new to C# expressions trees.

I've an expression tree being passed to a method as below:

private void MyMethod(Expression<MyClass> exp, string param)

I need to be able to tweak this exp and add a AND clause based on the param value at runtime. How do I achieve this please?

Thanks.

• Edited by ANi2000 Saturday, December 16, 2017 3:33 AM
    Saturday, December 16, 2017 3:32 AM

Answers

• Hello ANi2000,

>>I need to be able to tweak thisexp andadd a AND clause based on the param value at runtime

The emphasis is how to convert string to expressions. Because the CLR can't recognize expression type . it always just take the only string type to handle. If you want to convert the string to expression, you need to recompile it. You could try the below example.

private void MyMethod(Expression<Func<int,Boolean>> expression1, string param)
            {
                CSharpCodeProvider provider = new CSharpCodeProvider();

CompilerResults results = provider.CompileAssemblyFromSource
                (
                    new CompilerParameters(new[] { "System.Core.dll" }),
                       @"using System;
                       using System.Linq.Expressions;
                             class foo{
                                public static Expression<Func<int, Boolean>> bar(){