SSIS OnPostExecute Event handler firing before OnError event handler RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have an SSIS package with OnPostExecute  and OnError event handler. For some reasons OnPostExecute  is firing before OnError. (The progress window confirms that and I also tested with a messagebox)
    Is it suppose to work like that?
    I am new to ssis and so I might be doing something wrong. please help

Thanks

Swamy

Thursday, July 4, 2013 4:59 PM

Answers

• Hi Swamy,

If you want to collect errors associated with the data flow task, I would suggest having a similar error handler associated with the data flow executable.

Whether the package error handler for the package fires or not depends on how errors from the data flow(s) are being propagated to the package. For instance, if all errors are redirected or ignored in the data flow (which I think is technically possible), no errors will be propagated.

Kind regards M

• Proposed as answer by Mike Yin Monday, July 8, 2013 11:11 AM
    • Marked as answer by Mike Yin Thursday, July 11, 2013 5:08 PM
    Friday, July 5, 2013 10:36 AM

All replies

• yes, the order must OnError 1st, you also may be seeing two OnPostExecutes, and only one after the OnError.

It would be useful if you could share the design of the package here I think.

Arthur My Blog

Thursday, July 4, 2013 6:28 PM
  • Thanks Arthurz,

I noticed on a successful run the postexecute is fired twice and when there is error, post execute is only fired once and then OnError fires. I have provided few screenshots of a successful run

I have to set delay validation true to all tasks?

I think once OnError is fired the program stops without firing OnPostExecute. Please helphanks,

Swamy

Friday, July 5, 2013 8:50 AM
  • Hi Swamy,

Are your Event Handlers supposed to be associated with the Data flow executable or with something else?