none
In VB, once I have declared an entity with a two inner joins, how to reference the selected elements. RRS feed

• Question

•  

I am new to entity framework and LINQ. In the code below, I am trying to join 3 tables and then write some values out. None of of the parameters in the 'Debug.WriteLine() calls will compile. How do I refer to u.ID, u.Email in code?

Using context As New crosurveyEntities

Dim uas = (From u In context.Users Join s In context.Surveys On u.ID Equals s.UserID _
                           Join t In context.SurveyTemplates On s.SurveyTemplateID Equals t.ID _
                           Select {u.ID, u.Email, u.LastName, s.UserID, s.SurveyTemplate, t.Name})

Debug.WriteLine(u.ID)
                Debug.WriteLine(t.SurveyTemplateID)
                Debug.WriteLine(u.LastName)
                Debug.WriteLine(uas.ID)

End Using

Sunday, September 7, 2014 6:32 AM

Answers

• Hello David,

The result “uas” is a collection of anonymous types which could not be referenced as uas.ID, if you want to access on of its properties, you need to create a type, for example MyEntity with properties as ID, Email, LastName, UserID, SurveyTemplate, Name:

Partial Public Class MyEntity

Public Property ID As Integer

Public Property Email As String

Public Property LastName As String

Public Property UserID As String

Public Property SurveyTemplate As String

Public Property Name As String

End Class 

And change the select as:

Select New MyEntity With {.ID=u.ID, .Email =u.Email, .LastName =u.LastName, .UserID =s.UserID, .SurveyTemplate =s.SurveyTemplate, .Name =t.Name})

Since the result is a collection, we could access each record by using foreach:

For Each e As MyEntity In result

Debug.WriteLine(e.ID)

Next 

Best Regards,

Fred.

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.