My.User.IsInRole("Role Name") throws a Trust Relationship error on Windows 7 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Forum,

I hope someone can help me with this one, we've been working on this for weeks but can't find a solution.

Problem: My programs throw a Trust Relationship error when calling My.User.IsInRole() but only on Windows 7 64 bits.  They work on all our Windows XP stations.

My code is pretty simple.

With My.User
       if .IsInRole("Some Security Group Name") Then
          Bla.. Bla.. Bla..
      End If
    End With

I'm the only one in the company using Windows 7 which we are evaluating to decide if/when we're going to upgrade all our PC's.  I am a domain administrator and my PC is in the domain and I'm authenticated.  Since I installed Win 7 I haven't had any other authentication issues.

The apps are built on .NET 2.0 SP2

I don't know much about our domain setup which is handled by our network administrator but I'm told that the Primary Controller is a Windows 2003 and the Secondary is Windows 2000.  He tells me that by default every workstation first authenticate on the Secondary controller if it's available.

Here's the StackTrace

System.SystemException was unhandled
      Message="The trust relationship between this workstation and the primary domain failed.\r\n"
      Source="mscorlib"
      StackTrace:
           at System.Security.Principal.NTAccount.TranslateToSids(IdentityReferenceCollection sourceAccounts, Boolean& someFailed)
           at System.Security.Principal.NTAccount.Translate(IdentityReferenceCollection sourceAccounts, Type targetType, Boolean forceSuccess)
           at System.Security.Principal.WindowsPrincipal.IsInRole(String role)
           at Microsoft.VisualBasic.ApplicationServices.User.IsInRole(String role)
           at Inventory.Form1.SetSecurity() in D:\Visual Studio 2005\Projects\Inventory\Inventory\Form1.vb:line 92