Help with Thread Timeout Calculations RRS feed

• Question

• User964056028 posted

May I prefix this with the following:  I am just starting to think about this and am just bouncing ideas around - currently you can think of this as pseudo code - I am absolutely sure this is a piece of work that will take many iterations - and I am not an expert in this area which is why I am posting it here and trying to get others to comment on my ideas, and to come up with better ones!!  ;-)  May I also thank you all for any time you spend looking at this and helping me to come up with a better way of doing things!

Objective:

What I am trying to achieve is a way to measure time spent within an "aws session" by all the subtasks in that particular session in order to determine when the aws timeout is about to throw my web services out because the overall "wall clock time" has exceeded 30 seconds.  Rather than have aws time out my session I want my services to gracefully timeout themselves.  I will use the ThresholdReached method to do the graceful timeouts.

However, this is an environment where a single "aws session" ( I use that term loosely) can consist of many operations (mainly calls to a number of web services - I will call these SubTasks) some of which are synchronous, some of which are async..  in a multi-threading environment..

namespace MSollicito.Api.Main
    {
      public class HourglassContainer : IContainer  //extend IContainer used elsewhere in app
      {

// constructor here?

public HourglassContainer()
            {
                base();  //look at what the container constructors take in as params????

//not sure if I need a TimeManager in my container or not??

builder.Register(c =>
                {
                    var timeClient = c.Resolve<ITimeClient>();
                    return new TimeManager(timeClient, APIAuthenticationConfig.Settings.Username, APIAuthenticationConfig.Settings.Password);
                }).As<ITimeManager>().SingleInstance();