none
Enterprise ORACLE Adapter issues RRS feed

• Question

• hi,

I have been using enterprise oracle adapter for the last several months and found numerous problems with this adapter. The project is in QA and about to go to production so switching to WCF-based adapter is not an option. One problem that I found just last week is the most confusing one.

It started with an issue where send ports were active for a long time e.g. I was trying to run an update query on ORACLE database usinig ORACLE adapter and send port remained active for 48 hours without throwing any error. Upon research I found an article / hotfix http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922810. The hotfix, however didnt change anything and I am still facing this issue.

The problem has to do with runtimeagent.exe process that ORACLE adapter uses to connect to ORACLE database. I could see 10 to 11  runtimeagent.exe processes in task manager while only one or two of them were active. I guess the ORACLE adapter is not closing conenctions properly. I did some more research and found ( at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa561962.aspx) setting "RefreshAgent"  property to TRUE on ORACLEAdapter send port might fix the problem but to my surprise when I change the property to Yes, press the "apply" button, close the window and reopen the window, the property is set back to "NO". Meaning the adapter is not allowing me to set "RefreshAgent" property to yes.

Any idea how to fix this?

Although I am not 100% sure about the cause of this problem but I guess it has to do with concurrency. The last time send ports hung, i noticed two send ports were trying to connect to ORACLE at the same time and both of them hung.

Anybody on this forum faced this issue? any idea how to fix it? The only solution i found so far is to keep restaring host instance thats running ORACLE Adapter as it kills all runtimeagent processes.

thanks

Monday, October 20, 2008 8:45 PM

Answers