RSA/AES using CryptXXX API RRS feed

• Question

• I have zero experience with cryptography and am attempting to implement a reverse-engineered (which is somewhat documented) network protocol that uses it. The protocol works as follows: a 256-AES and 128-bit IV are generated by the client which is then encrypted with an RSA private key (which I have in a .PEM file) and sent to initialize the session. According to the documentation this encryption scheme is futile anyway.

I'm interested in what the correct way to go about this would be; at present I do the following:

1) Load the RSA private key from the PEM file using CryptStringToBinary and CryptDecodeObjectEx

2) Create a context using CryptAquireContext (using MS_ENH_RSA_AES_PROV / PROV_RSA_AES)

3) Import the RSA private key using CryptImportKey

4) Generate an AES key using CryptGenKey (CALG_AES_256 / size: 0x100 flags: CRYPT_EXPORTABLE)

5) Use CryptGenRandom to generate the IV and then associate it with the AES key using CryptSetKeyParam (KP_IV)

6) To get the AES key I use CryptExportKey (using the priv. RSA key) then decrypt the blob key data using CryptDecrypt again with the priv. RSA key.

7) Lastly I use CryptEncrypt with the priv. RSA key to encrypt a buffer containing the AES and the IV [and send it to the server]

The problem is that the resulting encrypted data I'm sending is invalid according to the server (of which I don't have access to and thus I don't know why it's invalid)

I'm aware of a working implementation (albeit in Java) which is very small source-wise if that'd help understand what exactly I'm on about.

--

Specifically the data structure I need to generate is as follows:

#pragma pack(1)

struct gsp_init { DWORD Len; // Message length. WORD Magic1; // 0x00AD // Following encrypted with the RSA private key. BYTE AesKey[32]; // Randomly generated AES-256 key. BYTE AesIV[16]; // Randomly generated 128-bit IV WORD Magic2; // 0xF00F };

#pragma pack()