none
Add table row to existing table with the Javascript API RRS feed

• Question

• This is my first time messing with the Javascript API for Office.

I want to update a table from a binding, but I'm running into the problem where I'm attempting to update to a row that isn't part of the table, which throws back the invalid startRow or startColumn error. Is there a way to extend the row count of a table in the Javascript API without reloading the whole table?

Thursday, August 27, 2015 3:12 PM

Answers

• Hi David,

>> I'm running into the problem where I'm attempting to update to a row that isn't part of the table, which throws back the invalid startRow or startColumn error. Is there a way to extend the row count of a table in the Javascript API without reloading the whole table?

I am not sure what you mean with “where I'm attempting to update to a row”? Based on your later description, it seems that you want to add rows to a table. If so, I suggest you select the table, add binding to the current selection in the document with Bindings.addFromSelectionAsync, then add new rows to the table with TableBinding.addRowsAsync method. The code below shows a simple demo:

//addFromSelectionAsync
    function addFromSelectionAsync() {
        Office.context.document.bindings.addFromSelectionAsync(Office.BindingType.Table, { id: 'addFromSelection' },
           function (asyncResult) {
               app.showNotification('Added new binding with type: ' + asyncResult.value.type + ' and id: ' + asyncResult.value.id);
           });
    }
    //add rows
    function addRows() {
        Office.context.document.bindings.getByIdAsync("addFromSelection",
            function (asyncResult) {
                var binding = asyncResult.value;
                binding.addRowsAsync([["hello", "word"]], function (asyncResult) {
                    app.showNotification( asyncResult.value);
                });
            })
    }