none
RSACryptoServiceProvider Issue RRS feed

• Question

•  

I am new to this technology so please bare with me. I have this two methods to encrypt and decrypt data using RSACryptoServiceProvide in the WCF service.

Encrypting Data

public byte[] RsaEncrypt(byte[] dataToEncrypt, RSAParameters rsaKeyInfo, bool doOaepPadding)
      {
       try
       {
        byte[] encryptedData;

using (var rsaCryptoServiceProvider = new RSACryptoServiceProvider())
        {
         rsaCryptoServiceProvider.ImportParameters(rsaKeyInfo);

encryptedData = rsaCryptoServiceProvider.Encrypt(dataToEncrypt, doOaepPadding);
        }

return encryptedData;
       }
       catch (CryptographicException cryptographicException)
       {
        EventLog.WriteEntry(AppName, "[RsaEncrypt Error] CryptographicException: " + cryptographicException, EventLogEntryType.Error);

return null;
       }
       catch (Exception exception)
       {
        EventLog.WriteEntry(AppName, "[RsaEncrypt Error] Exception: " + exception, EventLogEntryType.Error);

return null;
       }
      }

Decrypting Data

public byte[] RsaDecrypt(byte[] dataToDecrypt, RSAParameters rsaKeyInfo, bool doOaepPadding)
      {
       try
       {
        byte[] decryptedData;

using (var rsaCryptoServiceProvider = new RSACryptoServiceProvider())
        {
         rsaCryptoServiceProvider.ImportParameters(rsaKeyInfo);

decryptedData = rsaCryptoServiceProvider.Decrypt(dataToDecrypt, doOaepPadding);
        }

return decryptedData;
       }
       catch (CryptographicException cryptographicException)
       {
        EventLog.WriteEntry(AppName, "[RsaDecrypt Error] CryptographicException: " + cryptographicException, EventLogEntryType.Error);

return null;
       }
       {
        EventLog.WriteEntry(AppName, "[RsaDecrypt Error] Exception: " + exception, EventLogEntryType.Error);

return null;
       }
      }