none
Outlook 2007 Add-in Assignment RRS feed

• Question

• I'm really new at add-in stuff. My code should do these: An outlook user saves/creates anything. If the created item is an appointment item my system must save it under the c: directory, taking the item subject as file name. Here is my code. What is wrong there?

When I create a new appointment the if clause is working, if I write there any other code, it is working, but I can't get the ai's info, such as ai.Subject. So I think the problem is on

Outlook.AppointmentItem ai = Item as Outlook.AppointmentItem;

line. I suppose this is assignment is not working(the instance is not created), but why I really don't know. What I can do to fix this?

namespace SendToMRBS
    {
        public partial class ThisAddIn
        {
            private void ThisAddIn_Startup(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
            {
               this.Application.ItemLoad += new Outlook.ApplicationEvents_11_ItemLoadEventHandler(Application_ItemLoad);
            }

void Application_ItemLoad(object Item)
        {
            if (Item is Outlook.AppointmentItem)
            {
                Outlook.AppointmentItem ai = Item as Outlook.AppointmentItem;
                ai.SaveAs("C:\\" + ai.Subject, Microsoft.Office.Interop.Outlook.OlSaveAsType.olICal);
            }
        }

private void ThisAddIn_Shutdown(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
        {
        }

#region VSTO generated code

/// <summary>
        /// Required method for Designer support - do not modify
        /// the contents of this method with the code editor.
        /// </summary>
        private void InternalStartup()
        {
            this.Startup += new System.EventHandler(ThisAddIn_Startup);
            this.Shutdown += new System.EventHandler(ThisAddIn_Shutdown);
        }

#endregion

}

Background: Outlook 2007 VS2010 C#

Monday, May 7, 2012 6:03 AM

Answers