tableadapter problems RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

i have some dummie code

Public Class Form1

Private Sub Table_1BindingNavigatorSaveItem_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Table_1BindingNavigatorSaveItem.Click

Me.Validate()

Me.Table_1BindingSource.EndEdit()

Me.TableAdapterManager.UpdateAll(Me.CrapDataSet)

End Sub

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

'TODO: This line of code loads data into the 'CrapDataSet.Table_1' table. You can move, or remove it, as needed.

Me.Table_1TableAdapter1.Fill(Me.CrapDataSet.Table_1)

End Sub

End Class

-----------------------

But i am getting an error

"Update requires a valid UpdateCommand when passed DataRow collection with modified rows."

Im new to this stuff so i cant find a post that really explains what i need to do.
    I can read from the database, but not update.  I read somewhere that there are
    missing necessary SQL statements for the Delete and Update commands, but i cant find where to enter them in nore what needs to be entered in

Any help would be great

• Moved by VMazur Friday, March 6, 2009 10:51 AM Move to correct forum (Moved from ADO.NET Data Providers to Windows Forms Data Controls and Databinding)
    Friday, March 6, 2009 6:26 AM

Answers

• Hi Andy,

It seems that the UpdateCommand of the Table_1TableAdapter is not set. Double click the DataSet in the Solution Explorer to open the DataSet. Select the Table_1TableAdapter in the DataSet and switch to Properties window. Navigate to the UpdateCommand entry to see if the value is none.