ASP.NET Core 2.0 MVC Vs Razor Pages RRS feed

• Question

• User-163542604 posted

Hi Guys 

I am starting a new asp.net core 2.0 project - I am building a reporting application that generates monthly reports. I am a newbie. 

Based on research - the msdn tutorial for MVC encourage using Razor Pages instead. What will you recommend for a newbie as a stage by stage increment of learning and implementation. 

My thought process currently is : 

1. Figure out the tables i need for storing data
    2. Integrate Entity Framework to create the context classes for CRUD operations 
    3. Use ASP.NET Core 2.0 MVC 
    4. Use Bootstrap to create the frontend with Telerik (what this company already uses to create the report template) - needed maily to create device (ipad) friendly web app. 

It is huge learning curve so i really appreciate any help I can get. Thanks in advance. 

Tuesday, October 30, 2018 6:50 PM

All replies

• User475983607 posted

Based on research - the msdn tutorial for MVC encourage using Razor Pages instead. What will you recommend for a newbie as a stage by stage increment of learning and implementation. 

I recommend following the recommendation and go with Razor Pages.

Use ASP.NET Core 2.0 MVC 

The latest framework is 2.1 with 2.2 coming soon.   I recommend going with 2.1 as it has quite a few updates form 2.0.  I also recommend looking into the the new stuff in 2.2.

Use Bootstrap to create the frontend with Telerik (what this company already uses to create the report template) - needed maily to create device (ipad) friendly web app

You'll need to consult Telerik and BootStrap reference docs.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018 7:05 PM
  • User-271186128 posted

Hi archer2018,

Please refer to this blog to know more about Asp.net Core MVC and Razor Pages.