none
All User Excel 2010 Addin RRS feed

• Question

• Platform: Windows 7 64bit, 32bit Office 2010, Visual Studio 2010

I'm attempting to create a simple ribbon addin (a new tab on the ribbon) for Excel 2010. I can use the setup generated and it works fine for the Current User but I'm unable to get the addin to silently install and display for All Users. There are similar posts in the forums, but I've been unable to get mine to work as I would like - this may be down to an incomplete understanding - I'm not a developer but MSI Packager with a general scripting ability.

The end result I would like is a install that can be deployed to a machine and the addin appear to all users. No prompts or warnings should appear. Ideally I'd like deploy using an MSI.

As mentioned above, running the setup.exe generated by publish from VS works fine for the Current User. 

To reach the MSI stage, I first needed to work out how to install the addin without the setup. So, I've tried taking the files generated from publishing and copying them to C:\program files (x86)\Microsoft office\ and then adding the following registry keys:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Office\Excel\Addins\ExcelAddIn1]
    "Description"="ExcelAddIn1"
    "FriendlyName"="ExcelAddIn1"
    "LoadBehavior"=dword:00000003
    "Manifest"="file:///C:/Program Files (x86)/Microsoft Office/Addin1/ExcelAddIn1.vsto|vstolocal"
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\VSTO\Security\Inclusion\e2516cbc-9e57-4849-b1ce-4a05e21a69d4]
    "Url"="file:///C:/Program Files (x86)/Microsoft Office/Addin1/ExcelAddIn1.vsto"
    "PublicKey"="<RSAKeyValue><Modulus>rUbUT+/mig1Y413iVq9SbAncvtrKNuTYlkjlHVlZsW8VZqv2N3DY2O7YgibenC/psbbRu1G1nhfz/neM13tZUeNCLt2/l8CsZnz4dWLSgerf3eQJ0JiUuI6fz0IZQwR82fMGiYqYuNG0yBgt9XpuNYOqHCfl+IsYOS6rQGRTn00=</Modulus><Exponent>AQAB</Exponent></RSAKeyValue>"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\Excel\Addins\ExcelAddIn1]
    "Description"="ExcelAddIn1"
    "FriendlyName"="ExcelAddIn1"